Password Manager & Event Reminder Software

Frequently Asked Questions about Mindful

Please click a question to reveal/hide its answer.

If I purchase a license for Mindful, will my license ever expire and will I have to buy a new license again each time a new version of Mindful is released?

User licenses for Mindful never expire and will work with all minor releases of the application for which they were acquired. For example, if you acquired a license for Mindful 2.1, that license will continue to work with Mindful 2.2, 2.3, etc. However, it will not work with Mindful version 3 and subsequent versions.

Upgrading to a new major version is optional and licensed users of a prior version are usually entitled to a discount when upgrading to a new major version.

What is the difference between a minor version and a major version upgrade?

A major version denotes major program enhancements or a complete redesign of the application. A minor version denotes minor enhancements and/or bug fixes.

The first digit of the version number determines whether an upgrade is major or minor. If the first digit is different between two versions of the same application then the upgrade is major. If the first digit is the same for both versions then the upgrade is minor. For example, upgrading from Mindful SE version 1.2.6 to Mindful version 2.2 is a major upgrade (from 1.x to 2.x) while upgrading from version 2.1 to version 2.2 is a minor upgrade (from 2.x to 2.x).

NOTE: We often use the term 'update' when referring to minor upgrades, while the term 'upgrade' itself usually refers to a major upgrade. Updates are usually free while upgrades are not.

Mindful refuses my license/ registration details; am I doing something wrong?

Please make sure that your name, the name of your company (if one is provided), your serial number and your license key are entered exactly as provided, no more and no less. The program will refuse any discrepancy, no matter how insignificant it may appear to you. For example, even an additional space between your first and last name will be rejected.

Sometimes, a simple typo may be hard to spot with the eye. Try spelling aloud what you typed while reading it back. You may be surprised of what you can find with this little technique.

Your license details are also not interchangeable between different applications or different major versions of the same application. For example, Mindful license details will not work with Loan And Mortgage and Mindful SE version 1 license details will not work with Mindful version 2 either. Please make sure that your license details match the application that you are trying to unlock and its major version.

What is the name of the file in which my list of events is stored and where is it located?

Mindful (and Mindful Lite) version 2:
Select File -> Information in Mindful to see the name and location of your event file.

Mindful (and Mindful SE) version 1:
Originally, your list of events is stored in a file called Mindful.bin located in the folder where Mindful itself is installed (usually 'C:\Program Files\Felitec\Mindful', where C is the drive on which Windows itself is installed). However, your event file may be stored under a different name and/or location if you saved it using the Save as command of the File menu.

To determine the current name and location of your file, select File -> Save as in Mindful to display the Save As dialog. On the Save As dialog, the Save in box displays the current location of your file and the File name box displays its current name. Once you have determined the name and location of your file, you can close the Save As dialog by clicking Cancel.

How can I take a backup copy of my list of events and user accounts?

Your data file can be backed-up using any backup software. If you are not using any backup software, you can simply copy the file to a backup location of your choice using Windows Explorer™. In Mindful version 2, there is a Save Copy as option on the File menu that you can use to copy your data file to an external media without changing your default file location.

IMPORTANT: Pending changes not yet saved to your data file will not be included in your backup. You should issue a Save command (i.e. select File -> Save) prior to running a backup to ensure that all pending changes are saved and therefore included in the backup copy.

How can I restore my list of events and user accounts from a backup copy?

To restore your data file from a backup copy, please proceed as follows:

  1. Start Mindful (if not already running);
  2. Select File -> Save as (you don't have to actually save the file unless you want to restore your backup copy under a different name and/or location );
  3. Take note of the name and location of your data file as they appear in the Save As dialog;
  4. Click Cancel to close the Save As dialog;
  5. Close Mindful (i.e. select Application -> Exit );
  6. Restore the backup copy of your data file over the file name and location noted in step 3 above;
  7. Restart Mindful (it should now read your restored file).
I can not see my list of events, even when I click on the Mindful icon in the notification area. Why is this happening and what can I do to see my list of events again?

It looks like Mindful's main window is displayed outside of your screen boundaries. One possibility for this to happen is when your screen resolution is changed from higher to lower (e.g. from 1024 x 768 to 800 x 600).

To relocate Mindful's main window back into your screen boundaries, try the following:

  1. Click the Mindful icon in the notification area once to restore its main window (even if you don't see Mindful's main window at this point, it should still be there);
  2. While holding down the Alt key, press the space bar once;
  3. Press the letter 'm' on your keyboard once;
  4. Press the up arrow key once;
  5. Without pressing any mouse button, move the mouse cursor around the screen until you see the Mindful main window re-appear, then click the left mouse button once to fix it to its new position.
I just purchased a new computer. How do I transfer Mindful from my old computer to my new one?

To transfer Mindful to your new computer:

  1. Copy your data file from your old computer to a location of your choice where you have full read and write access on your new computer. If you do not know the path to that file on your old computer, select File -> Information in Mindful to find it;
  2. Install Mindful on your new computer. Click here for a download link and installation instructions;
  3. Start Mindful on your new computer;
  4. Open the file copied in step 1 above using the File -> Open command in Mindful on your new computer;
  5. Uninstall Mindful from your old computer; select Start -> All Programs -> Mindful 2 -> Uninstall Mindful 2 and follow the instructions;
  6. Unlock Mindful on your new computer using your current license details. If you do not have a copy of your license details, you can retrieve them at http://felitec.com/support/license.php (your email address and order number for Mindful are required to use that option).
I can't find an answer to my question in the list of Frequently Asked Questions for Mindful. What can I do now?

First, thank you for taking the time to search for an answer to your question about Mindful in our list of frequently asked questions. Doing so really helps us to avoid wasting valuable time answering the same questions over and over again, which leaves us more time to answer the questions that have not already been answered.

Since the answer to your question can not be found in this list, please click here to submit your question directly to our support team, who will be happy to answer it as soon as possible.